What I Wanted to Be When I Grew Up by John Patrick Green

Nerdy Book Club

Hippopotamister_GraphicHippopotamister, the graphic novel I’m in the midst of illustrating, stars a hippopotamus who leaves his home at the zoo, following his friend the red panda, and together they integrate themselves into human society by getting jobs at a variety of establishments. Working on this story, drawing Hippo and Red Panda wearing little hats and uniforms associated with different jobs, has made me reflect on what I wanted to be when I grew up.  The honest truth is, I pretty much always knew what I wanted to do for a living.

Paula Poundstone had a comedy bit about why adults are always asking kids what they want to be when they grow up, and the punchline is “because they’re looking for ideas.” I actually didn’t get asked the question that much when I was little. I had a talent for drawing very early in my childhood, so instead of…

Ver la entrada original 857 palabras más

Responder

