Year 2: Day 127 – I Never Stole Your Boyfriend

The 365 Poetry Project: Year 3

I never stole your boyfriend-
never really-
all those times
we yanked him back and forth
or let him loose.

I knew he was yours
but I swear,
that first time,
I waited
‘til you let him go.

But he was never really mine-
never really-
I could hear his wheels aching
in the middle of the night;
though his heart was in my hands
it thought of you.

And it doesn’t matter now-
not really-
all those times
we yanked him back and forth
or let him loose;

we were just kid gladiators
scuffling for a prize
that neither of us wanted
after all.

It doesn’t matter now-
not really-
but years later
it still has a place with me.

All our hearts
got so torn up and mangled;
where there was love
we turned it into sport,

and though I won that battle
I lost too much
and…

Ver la entrada original 60 palabras más

Responder

